This is an extremely traditional classic Cantopop hit that has had many lives. Penned by the one of the most acclaimed lyricist James Wong (黃霑), popularised by Deanie Ip (葉德嫻) and Leslie Cheung (張國榮), it was the song that every singer who was somebody used to cover. Usually, when they go into retirement, or when they pay tribute to someone who has passed.

My favourite cover is this live version from Anita Mui (梅艷芳) and Sandy Lam (林憶蓮). It occupies a special place in the Anita fandom, and has an incredible contrast, thanks to Anita’s ability to convey “hei hui” (唏嘘) in her voice, a Chinese phase that describes a sense of being at peace with regret.

明星 A Bright Star / lyrics translated
Also named: 當你見到天上星星 When you see the stars in the skies

——–

當你見到天上星星 可會想起我
When you see the stars in the skies, would you think of me

可會記得當年我的臉
Would you remember my face back in the day

曾為你更比星星笑得多
Smiling brighter than the stars because of you

當你記起當年往事 你又會 如何
When you think of what happened back then, what would you be like?

可會輕輕淒然嘆喟
Would you softly, sadly, sigh

懷念我在你心中 照耀過
Missing how I had shone brightly in your heart

我像那銀河星星 讓你默默愛過
I was like the stars in our Galaxy, that you loved quietly

更讓那柔柔光輝 為你解痛楚
letting their gentle shine, soothe your pain

當你見到光明星星 請你想 想起我
When you see these bright stars again, please think, think of me

當你見到星河燦爛
When you see the shiny fields of the Galaxy

求你在心中記住我
I wish you would remember me in your heart


當你記起當年往事 你又會 如何
When you think of what happened those years, what would you be like?

可會輕輕淒然嘆喟
Would you softly, sadly, sigh

懷念我在你心中 照耀過
Missing how I had shone brightly in your heart

我像那銀河星星 讓你默默愛過
I was like the stars in the Galaxy, who you loved quietly

更讓那柔柔光輝 為你解痛楚
letting that gentle light soothe your pain

當你見到光明星星 請你想 想起我
When you see these bright stars again, please think, think of me

當你見到星河燦爛 求你在心中 記住
When you see the shiny fields of our Galaxy, I beg of you to in your heart, remember

記住我
Remember me

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The author

Born and raised in Hong Kong for twenty years, transported to West London in young adulthood, a brief stint in Manchester, now torn between sleepy suburbia and the bustling city.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com